The Jason Leonard U20 County Championship is underway with 27 county sides from across the country battling it out across two divisions.

Division One, the highest tier of the competition, contains 14 teams with the final set to be held at Twickenham on Sunday, 6 May.

Yorkshire’s incredible record in the competition has seen them lift the trophy nine times and the side will once again head into this year’s tournament as favourites.

Durham pushed Yorkshire close in last year’s final, losing out 7-14 and the two sides will meet again in the pool stages this season.

Cheshire, last year’s Division Two champions,  join last year’s finalists in Pool One and they got off to the perfect start with a 29-0 win away against Durham. They meet Yorkshire this Sunday in what proves to be a crucial match for both teams at Birkenhead Park, kick off 2pm.

The Yorkshire selectors have named the following 22+3 travelling reserves:

1 Harry Butler (Harrogate)
2 William Hollings (Doncaster Phoenix)
3 William Dennis (Hull Ionians)
4 Dan Robinson (Doncaster Phoenix)
5 James Newman (Hull Ionians)
6 Hayden Thompson-Green (Leeds Beckett)
7 William Hall (Bishop Burton)
8 Zak Poole (Hull) Capt
9 Andrew Dixon (Leeds Beckett)
10 Sam Brooke (Doncaster Phoenix)
11 Sam Nunn (Old Rishworthian)
12 Tom Allott (Sandal)
13 Connor Field (Huddersfield)
14 Seva Balumkau (Doncaster Phoenix)
15 Kyle Kitney (Leeds Beckett)

16 Andrew Wheelhouse (Doncaster Phoenix)
17 Charlie Cartwright (Doncaster Phoenix)
18 William Routledge (Leeds Beckett)
19 Jarman Langton (Doncaster Phoenix)
20 Peter Millward (Leeds Beckett)
21 Sam Pocklington (Doncaster Phoenix)
22 Zac Berrill (Hull Ionians)

Dan Lamb (West Park Leeds)
Alex Mcglynn (Leeds Beckett)
Luke Hazell (Beverley)