The 2017/18 England U17 Development Squad has been revealed as international season moves into full swing with Yorkshire Carnegie youngsters Joe Carpenter and Ted Wainwright both included.

Full back Carpenter played all his junior rugby since the age of six at West Park Leeds and has progressed through the county ranks and into the Yorkshire Carnegie ERDPP set up. Previously at Lawnswood School, he is now studying at Woodhouse Grove.

Ted Wainwright attends Ripon Grammar School and last season captained the Yorkshire U16 rugby squad and led his school’s U16 squad to the Yorkshire Cup final.

John Fletcher has named a group of 32, with eleven of the fourteen sides from the U18 Academy League represented in the squad, with only Exeter Chiefs, Bristol, and Wasps not represented.


England U17 Development Squad (32):

Lennox Anyanwu (Harlequins & Christ’s Hospital)

Orlando Bailey (Bath & Thomas Hardye)

Harvey Beaton (Saracens & Sutton Valence)

Ethan Benson (Saracens & Hayes)

James Botterill (Harlequins & Fulbrook)

Joe Carpenter (Yorkshire Carnegie (Woodhouse Grove)

Philip Cokanasiga (London Irish & St Paul’s CC)

Tom Curtis (Sale Sharks & Sedbergh)

Harry Daynes (Gloucester & Hartpury College)

Harry Dugmore (Harlequins & Whitgift)

Morgan French (Worcester Warriors & Bromsgrove)

Josh Gillespie (Northampton Saints & Millfield)

George Hammond (Harlequins & Whitgift)

James Harper (Sale Sharks & Merchant Taylors’, Crosby)

Noah Heward (Worcester Warriors & Solihull)

Harry Hill (Newcastle Falcons & Sedbergh)

Jack Hughes (Northampton Saints & Uppingham)

Louis Lynagh (Harlequins & Hampton)

Isaac Marsh (Gloucester & Hartpury College)

Nahum Merigan (Bath & Beechen Cliff)

Rowan Mullis (Gloucester & Hartpury College)

Chunya Munga (London Irish & Leighton Park)
Chidera Obonna (Newcastle Falcons & RGS Newcastle)

Callum Pascoe (Newcastle Falcons & Gosforth Academy)

Jack Reid (Harlequins & Wellington College)

Sam Riley (Harlequins & St George’s, Weybridge)

Tom Roebuck (Sale Sharks & Wirral GS)

Fin Rossiter (London Irish & Wellington College)

Luc Smith (Harlequins & Brighton College)

Archie Tarbuck (Gloucester & Hartpury College)

Ted Wainwright (Yorkshire Carnegie & Ripon Grammar School)

James Whitcombe (Leicester Tigers & Woodhouse Grove)