Congratulations to our captain Ryan Burrows, who has been nominated for the Greene King IPA Championship player of the year award.

The Championship Player of the Year is voted for by all Championship club captains and Burrows joins Ealing Trailfinders’ Mark Bright and London Irish’s James Marshall on the list of contenders.

Speaking about being short listed for the honour Burrows said: “I’m extremely honoured to have my name put forward and recognised as one of the top three players in the Championship this season. It’s a great feeling and I must thank the club captains for their kind recognition.”

The winner will be announced at the RPA Players’ Awards in association with England Rugby, on Wednesday 10 May at Battersea Evolution, London.

Burrows, Bright and Marshall have consistently proven themselves as the standout performers in the second tier of English rugby this season, and were integral to their respective teams earning play-off spots.

“It’s a really nice feeling to know that all the club captains have voted and recommended me for this award,” said Bright. “Especially at my age, it’s great to know guys still think I have an impact on the pitch.”

And London Irish fly-half, Marshall added: “It’s a very humbling feeling to be nominated for this award, when I was told I was pretty surprised but I am stoked to be shortlisted alongside two other fantastic players.”

To book your places at The RPA Players’ Awards 2017 in association with England Rugby and to rub shoulders with the past and present heroes of the game please call 020 3053 6670 or email Martin Olima on