Half backs Joe Ford and Alex Davies return for Yorkshire Carnegie for this Sunday’s Greene King IPA Championship clash with Doncaster Knights at Castle Park as the top two sides in the county go head to head again.

The Knights have enjoyed the better of the spoils in recent seasons especially at Castle Park. Yorkshire Carnegie won there in the second leg of last year’s Play Off semi final but it was the Knights who progressed to the final with Bristol on aggregate, having won the first leg at Headingley Carnegie. That was Carnegie’s first win at Castle Park for nearly a decade. The last, and only, league win at Doncaster came in the promotion winning season of 2006-07 under Stuart Lancaster when Leeds won 30-16, current Yorkshire Carnegie forwards coach Steve Boden was in the Knights team that day. Since then, Carnegie have lost four league games against the Knights, a pre-season friendly in 2010 when the team were in the Premiership and lost to Nottingham at Castle Park in the season opening double header in 2013, James Lowes’ first game in charge of the club. The sides did draw 9-9 on Boxing Day in 2011 with a drop goal from Joe Ford and two penalties from Tommy Bell for Diccon Edwards’ side.

The Yorkshire Carnegie side includes two former Doncaster players in Michael Cusack and Ollie Stedman. Doncaster-born Cusack joined his home town club from Leeds in 2008 and made 22 appearances for the Knights before moving to Scotland with Glasgow. Stedman was part of the impressive Doncaster side last season that reached the Play Off Final. Stedman joined the Knights on loan during the 2014-15 season from London Welsh before signing at Castle Park on a permanent basis last year.

Yorkshire Carnegie Head Coach Bryan Redpath is able to recall Joe Ford and Alex Davies after injury. Ford missed his first Greene King IPA Championship game of the season last time out against London Irish with a knee injury but he returns to replace Tom Catterick, who himself suffered a knee injury in the game.

The team in full is:
15. Chris Elder
14. Jonah Holmes
13. Pete Lucock
12. Tom Casson
11. Tom Arscott
10. Joe Ford
9. Alex Davies
1. Lewis Boyce
2. Mike Mayhew
3. Mike Cusack
4. Mike Myerscough
5. Ben West
6. Ollie Stedman
7. Richard Mayhew
8. Ryan Burrows (c)
16. Phil Nilsen
17. Matt Beesley
18. Sione Faletua
19. Matt Smith
20. Josh Bainbridge
21. Max Green
22. Andy Forsyth