Yorkshire Carnegie stars Jonah Holmes and Ryan Burrows both missed out at the RPA Players Awards 2016 to Bristol Jack Lam as the Greene King IPA Championship Player of the Year, as voted for by their fellow players.

Wasps’ flanker, George Smith, added to an already memorable season by being crowned the RPA Players’ Player of the Year in association with England Rugby, at the 18th annual RPA Players’ Awards 2016.

The evening played host to some of the biggest names in the game and honoured the outstanding achievements of the season so far, with Smith, currently in his 17th year of professional rugby, registering the highest number of votes from his fellow professionals to be named the Players’ Player of the Year.

Other notable award winners on the night included Maro Itoje as LV= Young Player of the Year, Billy Vunipola as The Old Mutual Wealth England Player of the Year and former Ireland and British & Irish Lions centre, Brian O’Driscoll, was inducted into the RPA Hall of Fame in association with KPMG.