Yorkshire Carnegie U17 had a 29-17 win over Newcastle at a cold and windy Kingston Park running in five tries to two at Kingston Park.

The Falcons took a 3-0 lead before fly half Harry Davey played flat at the line and managed to break from 20m out scoring under the posts and adding the conversion, 3-7. 

The first half saw both teams wanting to play rugby with a great attitude for the majority, which led to a high error count. 

Falcons hit back just before half time with a driving line out in the left touch line adding a difficult conversion to take a 10-7 half time lead. 

Immediately following the break replacement backrow Ben Longton scored following a passage of play in to the opposition half and returning to the left wing to make it 10-12.

Davey then intercepted a pass on half way for a easy run in to make it 10-17. The Falcons forwards rallied and scored another driving lineout on 53 minutes adding the conversation to draw level 17-17. 

A lot of changes were made through the second half and on 57 minutes Grayson Maguire linked up well with the backs to break the line and run in, Davey adding the conversion 17-24. 

With confidence now high, growing through the second half fullback James Pinder finished off a well worked team try. Backs and Forwards linked well and played through the phases to give Yorkshire Carnegie U17s a 17-29 win.
Coach Jon Pendlebury commented, "For the short time we have been together with the players, the coaching staff were pleased with many of the areas come through in the game, particularly on attack. It gives us a great foundation to work from towards Sale Sharks in April." 
The squad in full for the game against Newcastle was:
1 Jack Wafer
2 Luke Chadwick
3 Will Dennis
4 Ben Jackson
5 Shaun Crouch
6 Ross Kirtland
7 Lewis Wilson (c)
8 Tom Williams
9 Oliver Fox
10 Harry Davey
11 George Bastow
12 Connor Field
13 Suva Ma’asi
14 James Pinder
15 Henry Wright
16 Jaques Haddleton
17 Dan McCabe
18 Harry Butler
19 Will Bowie
20 James Sanderson
21 Ben Longton
22 Grayson Maguire
23 Sam Pocklington
24 Jonny Ashman
25 Zach Berrill
26 Arthur Wilkinson