England Under 18 have named their side to take on France at Doncaster Knights’ Castle Park on Sunday, 22 February (kick off 2pm, streamed live on EnglandRugby.com).

Newcastle Falcons and Gosforth Academy No. 8 Callum Chick will captain the side, and Head Coach John Fletcher says that he’s excited about seeing his young charges in action.

“We’re into the competition phase of the season and of course that’s exciting,” he said. “Before Christmas it’s a case of developing the players and watching the guys play, so it’s great to be able to pull that together ahead of what will be a tough game against France. 

“The key at this stage is to let the guys go out there and play their rugby. They are all talented players and we want to give them licence to go out there and impress.

“The French will be physical – they can be unpredictable, and they are capable of absolute genius, so it’s a great test for us. But we will be focusing primarily on ourselves, it’s about what we can do.”

England Under 18 starting XV against France

15 Owain James (Wasps Rugby, Harrow School) 
14 Sam Aspland-Robinson (Harlequins, Wellington College) 
13 Conor Dolan (Wasps Rugby, Wellington College) 
12 Elliott Creed (Gloucester Rugby, Chosen Hill) 
11 Rotimi Segun (Northampton Saints, Stowe School) 
10 Mathew Protheroe (Hartpury College) 
9 Alexander Mitchell (Sale Sharks, Lymm HS) 

1 Mofe Wilkey (Harlequins, Trinity School) 
2 Dan Frost (Bath Rugby, Filton College) 
3 Billy Keast (Exeter Chiefs, Truro College) 
4 Matthew Postlethwaite (Exeter Chiefs, Ilkley Grammar) 
5 Alexander Moon (Northampton Saints, Sedbergh School) 
6 Archie White (Harlequins, Epsom College) 
7 William Allman (Northampton Saints, Trent College) 
8 Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons, Gosforth Academy, captain) 


16 Curtis Langdon (London Irish, St Pauls Sunbury) 
17 Jake Pope (Sale Sharks, Myerscough College) 
18 Jack  Stanley (Exeter Chiefs, Truro College) 
19 John Hawkins (Northampton Saints, Stowe) 
20 Joe Craggs (Newcastle Falcons, Gosforth Academy) 
21 Rory Brand (Sale Sharks, Wellington College) 
22 Max Malins (Saracens, Felsted) 
23 Sam  Allan (Yorkshire Carnegie, Prince Henry’s Grammar School)